I am relatively ignorant of Shakespeare
Aug. 6th, 2019 09:51 pmSo people are talking about which Shakespeare plays they've seen. I am nostalgic for the 2000s when someone would've put up a quiz on Quizilla so you could just tick the boxes and generate a graphic to post in your journal. But since we can't have nice things, I have gone through the list manually. I got the list of titles from
hilarita but it's pretty much all over.
( list of plays with some comments )
Unlike some of the people commenting at
rachelmanija's, I've never seen a wacky outrageous production. I've mostly watched conventional things, CSF and Stratford and respectable films. I think the weirdest was the child-friendly version of Taming of the Shrew mentioned under the cut. I've also never seen a really traditional production at the Globe – it's on my bucket list.
Compared to lots of my friends I feel a bit uncultured, tbh! If anyone has plans to see any interesting Shakespeare within commuting distance of Cambridge, or would like to make some, I'd be up for that. I'm not hugely excited to see any more Merchant of Venice or Taming of the Shrew, but even with those I could be persuaded.
( list of plays with some comments )
Unlike some of the people commenting at
Compared to lots of my friends I feel a bit uncultured, tbh! If anyone has plans to see any interesting Shakespeare within commuting distance of Cambridge, or would like to make some, I'd be up for that. I'm not hugely excited to see any more Merchant of Venice or Taming of the Shrew, but even with those I could be persuaded.